around the bar
February 9, 2010

ABA Nominates President-Elect, Other New Officers, Plus Nine Members to Board of Governors

The _ nominated a slate of new officers headed by William T. (Bill) Robinson III from Florence, Ky., who is in line to become president‑elect following the ABA 2010 Annual Meeting in San Francisco during August. The nominations were announced Feb. 8 at the ABA 2010 Midyear Meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Linda A. Klein of Atlanta was nominated to become chair of the ABA House of Delegates; Lucian Pera of Memphis, Tenn., was nominated to be treasurer; and Judge Cara Lee Neville of Minneapolis was nominated to be secretary.

The ABA House of Delegates will hold elections in August at the 2010 ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco. If elected, Robinson will become president-elect at the close of that meeting and will begin his one-year term as ABA president in August 2011. He will succeed Stephen N. Zack, a Miami lawyer.

Klein will assume her post for a two-year term at the conclusion of the meeting through the 2012 Annual Meeting. The chair of the ABA House is the second-highest office in the association.  Pera and Neville would be elected to serve as treasurer and secretary, respectively, for three-year terms beginning at the conclusion of the 2011 Annual Meeting until the close of the ABA Annual Meeting in August 2014.

Robinson Heads Slate of Nominees

Robinson is the member-in-charge of the northern Kentucky offices of Frost Brown Todd LLC, a regional law firm of over 400 lawyers with offices in Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee, West Virginia and Indiana.  Throughout his career, Robinson has exhibited leadership in his community and the profession, including his volunteer service as chair of the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport, chair of the Cincinnati USA Partnership for Economic Development and, for seven years, as a member of the ABA Board of Governors.

An ABA member for more than 35 years, Robinson is a member of the association’s policymaking House of Delegates, is chair of the ABA Standing Committee on Governmental Affairs, is on the planning committee for the ABA’s annual advocacy “ABA Day” in April in Washington, D.C. and is a member of the Board of Governors’ Strategic Planning Committee.

Klein Nominated to Chair House of Delegates

Klein is a shareholder in the Atlanta offices of Baker Donelson. She is a former president of the State Bar of Georgia and former chair of the ABA Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section.  Klein has been active in state, local and national legal and bar organizations throughout her career, holding positions in the ABA House of Delegates and chairing numerous entities in the association.  She has also been active in the American Bar Foundation and was this year’s recipient of its Fellows Outstanding State Chair Award, presented last week in Orlando.

Pera and Neville Nominated as ABA Treasurer and Secretary

Pera is a litigation partner in the litigation practice group of Adams & Reese in Memphis.  He has a long record of service to the profession having served on the ABA Board of Governors, in the ABA House of Delegates and as a member of the Ethics 2000 Special Committee. He is long active in the field of professional ethics. Pera has represented numerous media clients and has taken on numerous First Amendment and media law issues

Neville has served as a judge in the Hennepin County District Court since 1986. She has been active in the ABA and has served as a member of the Board of Governors and House of Delegates. She has served as chair of the Criminal Justice Section and has been involved in the Judicial Division. She has been active in the leadership of numerous ABA and other legal organizations throughout her career.

Board of Governors Nominees

Nine lawyers from around the country were nominated to be members of the ABA Board of Governors.  They will serve three-year terms ending in 2013. In the next year, the board will consist of 40 members, and revert to 38 members when the treasurer and secretary assume their posts.

Six of the Board of Governors nominees were selected to represent regional districts, while two others would represent substantive legal practice areas and one would be a woman member‑at‑large.

Nominees to the ABA Board of Governors, which oversees association administration and policy‑implementation, also will be presented for election by the House of Delegates in August.  If elected, they will serve three-year terms, starting immediately after the conclusion of the 2010 Annual Meeting.  The nominees, and the constituencies they are nominated to represent, are:

  • Cheryl I. Niro, Chicago, District 7, Illinois and Ohio;
  • Edith G. Osman, Miami, District 8, Florida and Texas;
  • James S. Hill, Bismarck, N.D., District 10, North and South Dakota, Nebraska and Wyoming;
  • James F. Carr, Littleton, Colo, District 11, Colorado, Arizona and Oklahoma;
  • Carlos A. Rodriguez Vidal, San Juan, P.R., District 13, Puerto Rico, Alaska, Montana and Oregon;
  • James Dimos, Indianapolis, District 18, Indiana, Maryland and Washington;
  • Mary Ellen Coster Williams, Bethesda, Md., ABA Section of Public Contract Law;
  • Peter A. Winograd, Albuquerque, N.M., ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar; and
  • Michelle A. Behnke, Madison, Wis., Woman Member-at-Large.

More information on the ABA leadership is available by clicking here.

Learn More About:  ABA OfficersMidyear Meeting 2010