top story
May 16, 2012

ABA Silver Gavel Award Winners Announced


The _ announced today its selections for the Silver Gavel Awards for Media and the Arts, which recognize outstanding work that fosters the American public’s understanding of law and the legal system. This is the ABA’s highest honor in recognition of this purpose, and no more than one Silver Gavel is presented in each category.

The ABA will present four Silver Gavels and seven honorable mentions from the nearly 200 entries received in all eligible categories, which include: books, newspapers, magazines, commentary, documentaries, drama and literature, radio, television, and websites.

Selection criteria include: how the entry addresses the Gavel Awards’ purpose and objectives; educational value of legal information; impact on, or outreach to, the public; thoroughness and accuracy in presentation of issues; creativity and originality in approach to subject matter and effectiveness of presentation; and demonstrated technical skill in the entry’s production.

The association has presented these awards annually since 1958. The 18-member Standing Committee on Gavel Awards, chaired by Sheila Slocum Hollis of Washington, D.C., makes final award decisions.

The awards presentation will be July 17 from 5 – 6:30 p.m. at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. ABA President Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III will present the Gavel Awards to honorees.

For further information, go to www.ambar.org/gavelawards.

The following is a complete list of winners with a link to their work:



“The Death Penalty in America”
The Atlantic

Andrew Cohen, Contributing Editor and National Correspondent


Women, War & Peace: I Came to Testify
THIRTEEN and Fork Films in association with WNET and ITVS
Pamela Hogan, Series Co-Creator & Executive Producer/Producer/Writer
Gini Reticker and Abigail E. Disney, Series Co-Creators/Series Executive Producers
Nina Chaudry, Series Senior Producer
Andrew Fredericks, Editor
Jessie Beauchaine, Associate Producer


“Imminent Danger”
Journal Sentinel
Meg Kissinger, Reporter


The Color of Conscience: Human Rights in Idaho
Idaho Public Television
Marcia Franklin, Producer/Writer/Host
Jay Krajic, Videographer/Editor

BOOKS – Honorable Mention

Convicting the Innocent: Where Criminal Prosecutions Go Wrong
Brandon L. Garrett, Author
Harvard University Press

Habeas Corpus After 9/11: Confronting America’s New Global Detention System

Jonathan Hafetz, Author
New York University Press

DOCUMENTARIES – Honorable Mention

Scenes of a Crime
New Box Productions
Grover Babcock and Blue Hadaegh, Producers/Directors
Robert DeMaio, Editor
Michael Kowalski, Sound Mix

NEWSPAPERS – Honorable Mention

“Deadly Force: When Las Vegas Police Shoot, and Kill”
Las Vegas
Lawrence Mower, Staff Writer
Alan Maimon, Special Correspondent
Brian Haynes, Staff Writer
John Locher, Photographer
James G. Wright, Project Editor

RADIO – Honorable Mention

Rising Violence in California Psychiatric Hospitals
National Public Radio
Ina Jaffe, Correspondent
Quinn O’Toole, Editor

TELEVISION – Honorable Mention

NewsChannel 5 Investigates: Policing for Profit
WTVF-TV, Nashville
Phil Williams, Chief Investigative Reporter
Kevin Wisniewski, Producer
Bryan Staples and Iain Montgomery, Producers/Photojournalists

WEBSITES – Honorable Mention

Timothy Stanley, Chief Executive Officer
Stacy Stern, President
Guillermo Balboa and Berenice Beltran, Engineering Staff
Elizabeth Roig and Ken Chan, Attorneys
Mountain View, Calif.

Learn More About:  Access to Justice