top story
April 18, 2013

ABA Honors Members of Congress for Leadership on Key Legal Issues

ABA President Laurel Bellows

ABA President Laurel Bellows presents the Congressional Justice Award to Sen. Richard Durbin (D-IL) as part of ABA Day events

The _ honored six members of Congress yesterday for their contributions to issues important to the legal profession, by presenting them with the Congressional Justice Award.

The recipients are:

  • Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) for his lead role in the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act, which was first enacted in 1994 to prevent domestic and sexual violence and provide assistance to victims and families;
  • Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Illinois) for supporting legislation that provides loan repayment assistance for state and local prosecutors and federal, state and local public defenders who make a commitment to three years of service;
  • Sen. Tim Johnson (D-S.D.) for supporting legislation that provides for two years full Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation protection for Interest on Lawyers’ Trust Accounts and for expediting the passage of legislation protecting the attorney-client privileged status of information submitted to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau;
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) for sponsoring legislation that requires federal prosecutors to disclose information favorable to the defendant in criminal proceedings; and
  • Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-N.J.) and Rep. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.) for preserving Legal Services Corporation funding in Hurricane Sandy relief legislation.

The awards were given as part of the ABA’s annual effort to connect policymakers with constituents in the legal profession. ABA Day 2013 brings distinguished lawyers from 50 states to Washington, D.C., to discuss issues such as funding for the Legal Services Corporation and federal judicial vacancies.

The Justice Awards Dinner took place yesterday at 7:30 p.m. in the Great Hall of the Library of Congress’ Thomas Jefferson Building.

Learn More About:  Access to JusticeBellows, Laurel G.